(Follow this link for a full list of Thameslink Programme awards)

The new London Bridge station has won ‘Major Station of the Year’ at the National Rail Awards (NRA) 2018.

NRA judges said that “the Thameslink Programme’s redevelopment had given the UK a new ‘Cathedral’ station in place of a mundane congested legacy.”

Simon Blanchflower, major programme director for Thameslink Programme, said: “As the judges have rightly stated, London Bridge has been transformed by the Thameslink Programme. It is now a station fit for the 21st century and has become a landmark station in Southwark, with better links in to the local area and a more unified and accessible feel. It is great for these improvements to be recognised alongside the great work of the station management team and I congratulate everyone involved.”

Network Rail route stations director Ian Hanson said: “On behalf of the whole station team, I am truly delighted to win the Major Station of the Year Award. We have worked hard to protect customer service whilst the project works have gone on and I would like to thank all our customers for their patience over this time. Winning an award such as this can only happen with a great team, so we accept this with our partners GTR and Southeastern.”

The National Rail Awards are organised by RAIL Magazine, Britain’s biggest-selling modern railway magazine. The Awards were presented on 13 September 2018 in a ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London in front of an audience of nearly 1,200.

Southeastern and Network Rail were also Highly Commended in the Outstanding Teamwork category for their work together on the London Bridge station closure.

London Bridge station was originally opened in 1836, making it the oldest railway terminus in London.